I was horrified this week to learn that I had somehow joined the happy folks at Google+, simply by clicking on a link somewhere. Not even sure where.
soooo. I went in this morning to see if I could unsubscribe. ahahahahaha
Sure I can. However. Way down at the bottom it asks if you want to remove your Google+ profile. "read more" it says. (drum roll here. cue the violins) Under "read more' is an entire page explaining what will and will not happen if you do this. And all of them seem to pertain only to +. However, at the bottom, there is a quiet little statement that says 'if you delete your +profile you will effectively be removing yourself from most of the services which Google provides, including blogs, email, etc.
Our email server rides on the G Mail pony. I use Chrome to access at least 2/3rds of my online stuff. This is entrapment, and there's not much I can do except try not to touch any of the pretty flashing buttons over there.